Sound of Music

Conception and artistic direction

Yan Duyvendak

Sound of music

© Sébastien Monachon

Musicals have always thrived in times of economic crisis: they were the refuge of the victims of the 1929 stock market crash and they flourished after World War II. While our era is marked by global warming and budget cuts, and while the West is obsessed with its own decline, Yan Duyvendak stages his own musical, with real Broadway singers and dancers, and the collaboration of choreographer Olivier Dubois and a chorus line of thirty dancers, writer Christophe Fiat and composer Andrea Cera. Sound of Music is a satirical comedy about our time, where songs inspired by news headlines are accompanied by sugary tunes, thrilling choreography and dazzling scenery, worthy of the great classics of the genre. The texts explore contemporary issues while the stage show gets into full swing and feasts our senses with all its glory. This is the paradox of Yan Duyvendak’s new piece, raging “to dig into the angst that musicals are supposed to soothe”. Embarking on a sweet, enchanting journey, the spectators find themselves like passengers on the Titanic who were listening to the orchestra playing while the boat started sinking. Although leaning unashamedly towards of kitsch, easy fun and spectacular entertainment, Sound of Music shines a light on the blindness of the world.


Marion Siéfert

2-9 October 2015


In English with French surtitles

Artistic Assistant

Nicolas Cilins

Texts / Libretto

Christophe Fiat

Translation and adaptation to English

Martin Striegel

Choreography of All Right Good Night, Staying Afloat, Chinese Are On Tour, Rain Dance by

Olivier Dubois

Choreographic assistant to Olivier Dubois and coach

Cyril Journet

Other choreography by

Michael Helland


Andrea Cera

Vocal coach

Sylvie Zahnd

Set Designer

Sylvie Kleiber

Light Designer

Vincent Millet

Costume Designer

Nicolas Fleury

Automation Programming

Thomas Köppel


Angelika Erlacher, Lisandra Bardèl, Eveline Gorter, Maria Einfeldt, Nathalie Parsa, Sorina Kiefer, Oliver Aagaard-Williams, Mario Saccoccio, Sven Niemeyer, Jan Grossfeld, Martin Skriver, Rudi Van Der Merwe, Melanie Boehm, Claire-Marie Ricarte

Dancers of the Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de danse de Paris (CNSMDP)

Juliet Ceccarelli, Eugénie Dal Molin, Alison Gaignoux, Mathilde Havard, Maya Lemmet-Ribeyrol, Sarah Mendoza, Mélissa Renaud, Clara Serafini

Dancers of the Pôle supérieur d’enseignement artistique Paris Boulogne Billancourt (PSPBB)

Tésia Peirat, Jean-Baptiste Portier, Agathe Dumas, Mathilde Martinez, Mathilde Moreau, Zoé Bléher, Constance Diard, Isaure Leduc, Nathanäel Delhaie, Alice Boivin, Anne Brinon, Laure Desplan, Aminata Diallo, Clémence Dieny, Adélie Marck, Solène Wachter, Vincent Dupuy, Némo Flouret, Louis Gillard, Georges Labbat, David Le Borgne, Hugo Mahut, Enzo Pauchet

Dancers of the Académie Internationale de la Danse (AID)

Soukeyna Boro, Cannelle Perdu, Laurisse Sulty, Maxime Rullier, Aurélien Bednarek

Set Construction

Atelier Théâtre de Vidy

Stage Management

Ludovic Guglielmazzi

Head Stage Hand

Jean-Daniel Buri

Head of Light

Mathieu Wilmart

Sound Team

Ludovic Guglielmazzi, Aurélien Stuby

Dates and playing times

Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday at 8:30pm, Thursday at 7:30pm, Saturday at 6:30pm, Sunday at 3:30pm

Running time

1 hour 20 minutes


Grande salle

Premiere 29 August 2015 at the Théâtre Forum Meyrin in partnership with La Bâtie – Festival de Genève, Switzerland